Posted by: Drew Wilson | June 24, 2010

Heart Condition

Realizations can be a great thing. Maybe one day some particular truth of God really just clicked in your head and you experienced a deeper understanding of God and who He is. It makes you excited, it validates your belief and satisfies you in a way that only God can.

Realizations can also be not so exciting. Like when you realize, long after the fact, that you’ve made a mistake.

In the past I’ve worked hard to keep a right attitude, to avoid pride and seek to be humble and act with humility. It seems recently though, when dealing with difficult circumstance (and sometimes people haha) that I’ve let my heart become the victim. It’s easy to let your self be hurt and want revenge. The whole “I’ll show them” routine. Its also easy to be let down and allow that to begin a destructive season of apathy.

So as I stand in the hole, its not easy to repair all the digging I’ve done, but I believe the remedy begins in the heart.

A part of Psalm 51 shares the secret.

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

When we have heart issues, the only place we can turn to repair our attitudes, apathy, pride etc. is God. When I can’t get energized to serve him the only thing I can do is look to Him.  I’m confident that God’s amazing glory will reignite the flame in my heart and lead me to live with passion for the God who loves me and calls me to follow Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

