Posted by: Drew Wilson | May 19, 2010

Only God can judge me!

As promised lets talk about judging.

This is one that comes up over and over it seems and the argument many times is similar this:

“you can’t tell me i’m wrong, only God can judge me. The bible says judge not lest ye be judged!”

Ok well lets make this short and sweet, we will take a look at what that scripture says and one or two others that will easily clear up this misconception.

First lets look at Matthew 7 1-5, where this “judge not” verse is.

1“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. 2For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. 3“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Notice anything there? If you follow the thought all the way through it ends with “so you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye”. So clearly the main idea here is not to abstain from “judgment” but to judge fairly and correct your personal issues on a matter before you confront someone else about that issue. Never does this imply that we should just shut up and ignore a fellow Christian’s sin.

Ok so, I don’t want to drag this out so lets jump to a scripture that will bust this whole myth wide open. 1 Corinthians chapter 5. Really you should read the whole context but to save time i will point out the most important parts.

Verse 1-3: 1It is actually reported that there is sexual immorality among you, and of a kind that does not occur even among pagans: A man has his father’s wife. 2And you are proud! Shouldn’t you rather have been filled with grief and have put out of your fellowship the man who did this? 3Even though I am not physically present, I am with you in spirit. And I have already passed judgment on the one who did this, just as if I were present.

Also Verse 12-13: 12What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? 13God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked man from among you.”

Hopefully this reads loud and clear. Believers are to ABSOLUTELY confront sin in each other.The bible uses the word “judge” for that.  Some people may first think of the term “judge” to mean Condemn and the power to forgive and condemn is certainly God’s  alone.  But the bible is CLEARLY talking about CONFRONTING SIN here. (caps here are to hopefully help me from being misunderstood in any way)

Alright, let me know what you think? Let us lean only on the word of God and not “what we heard” from someone about the bible. I am human and can easily be wrong, but God’s word is perfect and never wrong. If i misstated the truth please confront me, i pursue the truth.

Responses

  1. Hey Drew, I had a situation recently and God told me that if I knew someone was doing something wrong and I did not confront them that I also was guilty of their continued sin. There is a verse in the Bible that says if we warn someone, we are not responsible for their response , but if we don’t warn them God will hold us responsible. Ezekiel 3: 17-21.

  2. Great thought and A+ on bringing the scripture to back it up! That also reminds me of James 5:20, that says if we turn a sinner from error we save them from death and cover a multitude of sins! And we’re not going to change anyone’s mind about sin unless we confront it in some way. Thanks for sharing Renee’!

  3. I found this blog post accidentally on a Google search. I clicked through the link thinking that I was going to start getting very upset; this is one of my biggest pet peeves “Only God can judge me.” I was very happy to read the post you made and I pray that others will get a chance to read this as well. If people would only read whole chapters and books in the Bible they might understand more of these misconceptions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

