Posted by: Drew Wilson | March 10, 2010

Don’t Trust Your Heart

How many times have you heard phrases that give advice like “listen to your heart” or “follow your heart” and so on? While I don’t think these phrases were created with something evil in mind, there is a big flaw in this thinking. Your heart is housed in this fleshly sin-prone body, so the desires of your “heart” will not necessarily always be honorable.

Here’s a few things the bible has to say about the human heart.

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”
Jeremiah 17:9, KJV

19For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.                   Matthew 15:19 NIV

Whoa! is that the heart you want to follow or listen to? If you follow on your own desires, thoughts, goals and dreams you will be heading down a path that will never lead to peace or satisfaction.

Instead, follow and listen to Christ!

Mark 8:34-35

34Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 35For whoever wants to save his life[c] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it.

Responses

  1. I never thought of it in that manner. I am dealing with things now. I have said that I am trusting what God has laid on my heart. AS I pray for His will in my life, I might need to pray for Him to guard my heart from the things that are not from him and fill my heart with a peace knowing that I am following Him and His will. Thanks for sharing the word and it can help us with an insight of listening to God and guarded our hearts from the things of the world that can hinder our walks with him.

  2. I admit it is definitely a strange point of view, but I do believe its important for us to take a hard look at our motives. Are we doing something because we want it or because we’re following Christ? Our built in, sinful nature can sometimes make it difficult to see our true motives and it can make it hard to see if the origin of a thought or idea is from God or ourselves. Basically our first instinct or what “feels” right might not be what God is leading us to do, I am working on listening closer to Him and putting my personal opinions in their rightful place.

  3. I just like the picture. But who is it by again?

  4. Hi! I just happened upon this, I’m not from your area and haven’t heard your radio station. However, love this post! I agree 100%!!! I would like to have seen a share button for Facebook so I could pass it on! Have a great day! God bless!

  5. Thanks so much for the kind words. I’ve changed radio stations since this blog was published and you can listen in at http://www.ksbj.org or http://www.ngenradio.com depending on your taste in music.


Leave a Reply

Categories

