Posted by: Drew Wilson | July 20, 2009

How far would you go to follow God?

How far would you go to follow God?

There was a missionary traveling overseas in a part of Africa where the people were known to be vicious and actually cannibals. The missionary and his wife were driving down the road through this area when their car broke down. It was the middle of the night and they decided the safest thing for them to do was to sleep in their car until morning. They knew the danger of being in the area but were sure that God was in control and He would protect them. The next morning they awoke and fixed the car and continued on their way. Later on a contact making a documentary on this specific African Tribe asked the men if they had seen this car and the missionary? They said they had and 3 men were going up to attack them but when they got close they saw 16 men standing around the car and so they ran away. Back in the states a friend of the missionary related the story of how late one night he became convicted to spend time in prayer for his missionary friend, he called up the elders of the church and the 16 of them prayed all night.

I have no clue whether this story is true or just a story, but it made me think.

How far would I go to follow Christ and his leading. No matter how untimely or inconvenient? Would I pray all night even if I had plans the next morning?

If I have resistance to even spending extra time in prayer then what else would I resist?

The way God chooses to work is not always going to make sense to me, its not always going to be easy and certainly not always convenient.

This makes me wonder how much more God could use me if I could just stop worrying about the things of this world, and what I think and start to just listen and follow him.

Matthew 16:24-25 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25For whoever wants to save his life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

Responses

  1. This are some really “meaty” thoughts, Drew. Kinda goes along with something our preacher spoke on last week. He took the story of Joseph and put some new perspective on it…at least for me. When Joseph’s brothers threw him into the pit, do I think he was thinking, “Yeah! God’s vision of my brothers bowing down to me is coming true!” When he was sold into slavery did Joseph have a clear view to God’s will coming true in his life? Through everything he went through, did Joseph ever lose sight of God’s will? It seem that he did not because we are not told of any doubts he had. Pastor said this continued for about 22 years (if Joseph was ’bout 17 when he had the dreams and ’bout 39 when Pharoah “found” him).

    I think the question should not only be “How far are we willing to follow God” but also…”How long are we willing to follow God”?

  2. Good point Bonnie! Definitely something that each of us should reflect upon in our own lives. Its so easy to get caught up in our daily routines and forget to listen and follow God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

