Posted by: Drew Wilson | May 20, 2009

A better deal than cheap freezer meals

freezer mealI was talking with a friend a few days ago and they were telling me how some mormans had visited them recently. This friend is not a believer and one take on the encounter was that they believed that others should not push their religion on others. The conversation quickly changed to something else and I’ve been thinking about that statement everyday since then.

This morning I was listening in to Tim and Mark on Today’s News Issues and Feedback on KAVX and they were talking about evangelism. As I’m driving into work I’m thinking ok ok God, I get it. I need to get this off my chest and spend some time in thought, prayer and letting Him guide my actions.

While I do agree, we cannot and should not try to PUSH our beliefs on others that does not mean I think we shouldn’t share them. We share our thoughts and opinions to our friends everyday.  For example, if you got in a minor car wreck….would you not tell everyone you know? That’s a very big event in someones life, and yet such a very small event in comparison to an event that has given you eternal life in heaven and saved you from the punishment of eternity in hell.

Believers have experienced something amazing! How can we not share it??? I mean come on, I found a good deal on some freezer meals the other day and I was telling everyone in the office… is my salvation in Christ not a bigger deal that cheap freezer meals. (I sure hope so) Then how could I not tell someone about something that changed my eternity?

Wow, I hope somewhere in all that you get what I’m trying to say… I’m going to stop talking and leave you with some verses that speak clearer than I ever could.

Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 10:9,10 That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.

Romans 10:13 for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.

Revelation 3:20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in…

Leave a Reply

Categories

