Posted by: Drew Wilson | April 23, 2009

Kids Video Game Addiction?

Do your kids (or you) spend hours daily with video games? This can become a problem and you can help make sure your child stays balanced and does not fall into an addiction to video games. (while they aren’t harmful to your body you still don’t want to build addictive habits in your child)

Here’s a link to a blog that has some helpful tips if you want to lessen your child’s dependance on video games. http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/parenting/5-ways-to-prevent-video-game-addiction-in-your-child-449983/

Now, that being said about video games, as adults we can have a tendency ourselves to be internet addicts. Instead of being productive we can mindlessly sit and chat, use social websites like facebook, or spend hours playing addictive internet games. We must pursue disipline in our lives as well as the lives of our children.

Hebrews 12:11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

Responses

  1. Cool blog post!

    Wow, this article hits so close to home… I blog about this type of thing all the time over at my page http://wrathofnino.wordpress.com!

    I am a recovering Wowaholic (yes, video games ARE an addiction, even for adults), played for 2 years and almost lost my job, family and wife over my obsession. It was all I could think about, it dominated every waking moment of my conscious, (and unconscious at night) mind.

    After years of emotional neglect, my family had finally had enough… I was grossly overweight, unhealthy, and a pain to deal with on a daily basis. I quick one night after things had finally hit rock bottom… gave away all my stuff, said goodbye to my online “friends” and signed off… been 6 months now and I am so happy! I have lost over 85lbs, my health is back and my relationship with my wife and daughter has never been stronger.

    Yes, online gaming addiction DOES exist… still don’t believe me, check out this website too

    http://www.wowdetox.com

    sad testimony to something so devastating and so misunderstood.

    http://wrathofnino.wordpress.com/category/index/addicted-to-wow

    P.S. Thank you for sharing the Scripture reference, so so SO true!


Leave a Reply

Categories

