Posted by: Drew Wilson | October 10, 2008

Family Crest

So, Josh and I were comparing Family Crests this morning. I’m not sure why but it led to some interesting chatter. Take a look at my family crest here… you’ll notice one staple for the wilson family crest is what I like to call the “wolf-donkey”.  Pretty interesting huh.

You’ll also notice there is a lil banner at the bottom there it says “non sibi sed omnibus” which means “Not for self but for all.” Which is similar to another Wilson crest I saw that had the quote “vincit qui se vincit” which means “he conquers who conquers himself.” (I would have posted that crest here but it was copyrighted)

That whole “He conquers who conquers himself” got me thinking. I suppose there is two ways to interpret that quote.

Interpretation #1- Someone is conquered because they conquer themselves

Interpretation #2- Someone is able to conquer because they have overcome themselves first

That second possible interpretation was the way I originally read it and I immediately thought of some key bible verses that seem to mirror this thought of self control.

Proverbs 25:28
Like a city whose walls are broken down is a man who lacks selfcontrol.

1 Peter 5:8
Be selfcontrolled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

You can find your family crest at http://www.houseofnames.com its a fun website and who knows, maybe your family crest has a “wolf-donkey” too.

-drew

Responses

  1. Hi Drew

    The crest you have in the picture, is that your own family crest or if not what family name is it?

    Regards
    Eleanor

  2. Hey Eleanor,

    That is a Wilson family crest. I just found it on google image search, so I’m not sure if its exactly my family crest but I am a Wilson and that is supposed to be a Wilson family crest. I found better info and pics at that http://www.houseofnames.com website but they charge you to download them. Hope that helps. Thank you for your comment.

    -drew


Leave a Reply

Categories

